Student Speakers Contest


District 4-A1 Chairperson:  John Fauria 

On or before February 24, 2023. Club Contest
On or before March 20, 2023….. Zone Contest
On or before April 17, 2023……. Region Contest
On or before May 8, 2023………. District Contest       NOTE: CHSSA will be April 29-May 1
On or before May 22, 2023…….. Area Contest
On Saturday June 10, 2023……. State Final – San Diego, CA

The winner of the 85th Annual California Lions Student Speakers Contest, representing District 4-A1 and Chowchilla Lions Club, is Hailey Pasley.

Student Speakers Contest information and packets are available through the MD4 Lions website:  

The Student Speakers Contest topic is chosen during the August Council of Governors meeting. The topic and information will be posted on the MD4 Lions website shortly after the COG meeting.

The Student Speakers Contest provides scholarships to winners that can make a significant difference in their lives. It is a great way to support youth in your community.

Student-Speakers-ContestMD4 Student Speakers Foundation

Contact: PDG Chris Ohrmund, President District 4-L2  Email:

The “Fourth District Student Speakers Foundation Inc.” is a California non-profit corporation governed by a board of seven directors. Its purpose is to collect assets; the income is used to provide the scholarships given to the winners of the California-Nevada Student Speakers Contest.
The Foundation provides $100,000 in awards for the contest. From this amount, each individual district winner will receive a $4,000 scholarship, each area winner a $6,500 scholarship and the MD-4 winner an additional $10,000 scholarship.


  • By personal and club donations
  • By memorial gifts to honor departed Lions and friends
  • By gifts of property, stocks or bonds
  • By including the Foundation in your Will or Living Trust

Fred W. Smith Fellow—Will be conferred upon any individual contributing $500 or more to the Foundation, either in a lump sum or in five equal annual installments.
Dwight D. Stanford Fellow—Will be conferred upon any individual making a single donation of $300 or two annual payments of $150.
Harry J. Aslan Fellow—Will be conferred upon any individual making a single donation of $200.
Donald E. Snyder Fellow—Will be conferred upon any individual donating $400 in one payment or two annual payments of $200.

Donations to the Foundation are deductible under both State and Federal taxing regulations and should be made payable to the “Fourth District Student Speakers Foundation, Inc.” Please mail all donations to your District Trustee.

The Foundation’s first cash came from the profits of the Lions Goods Store at the next MD-4 convention. District Governor Al Mendel of Apple Valley, 1961-62, ran the store and suggested the gift. The first few years of the Foundation were a bit thorny. It was hard for the organization to collect money when it had very little prestige. Gradually the situation changed and the Foundation began to supplement the prizes which heretofore had been paid for entirely out of the MD-4 budget. Foundation funds come entirely from voluntary donations and income from the accumulated assets.

Past International President Fred Smith was the first president of the Foundation, followed by Past International Directors Dwight Stanford and Robert E. Anderson. Past District Governors Seeley J. Kondris and George “Jake” Jacobssen served between 1994 and 2002. Learn more about this year’s contest at the MD4 Student Speakers website.